Switching print profiles with unsaved changes

Get feedback on your 3D designs! Show off your 3D Models & Prints and receive feedback/comments!
Community rules
1. Be kind and courteous
We're all in this together to create a welcoming environment. Let's treat everyone with respect. Healthy debates are natural, but kindness is required.

2. No hate speech or bullying
Make sure everyone feels safe. Bullying of any kind isn't allowed, and degrading comments about things such as race, religion, culture, sexual orientation, gender or identity will not be tolerated.

3. Only 3D printers advertised.
Only 3D printers or directly related product may be advertised. If you post anything else it will be moderated and you will be banned.

4. Replying to posts
If you reply to a post, make sure your reply is connected with the main topic, do NOT take a topic off track.

5. All post are moderated
Every post on here is moderated - always. Don't bother joining unless you have works to share or problems to inquiry about 3D printers. That is all that will be allowed on this group.
Post Reply
User avatar
AnetLau
Posts: 815
Joined: 2020-06-24 1:56

When editing profiles, users might want to switch to a different profile, while the current profile has changes that are unsaved. Ultimaker Cura has a built-in feature that prompts the user on ‘what to do with unsaved changes'.

In the following example, a ‘Normal profile’ is loaded with some user changes made:


Image


User changes from the pre-configured profile are marked by the ‘reset button and italic font’ (7) in the printing profile. With these unsaved changes (6), the ‘Fine profile’ is selected. A pop-up appears asking what to do with my unsaved changes. There are three options:

  • Keep (4). Keep the unsaved changes, they will be injected into the ‘fine’ profile, resulting in a ‘fine profile’ with the same modifications as performed in the previous profile
  • Discard (5). Discard the unsaved changes, the ‘Fine’ profile will load as the protected, unchanged profile
  • Create new profile (3). The displayed settings will be saved as a new profile, and the ‘fine profile’ will load as the protected, unchanged profile


By default, this pop-up will always show so that the user can make a decision. To prevent this popup if discarding or keeping the changes a lot, the behavior can be changed to:

  • Discard and never ask again
  • Keep and never ask again


If changed to never ask again, the option can be re-introduced through the Preferences menu.


Post Reply